Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | April 29, 2012

Zucchini Bread: A Tried and True Recipe


This recipe is tried and true, one that I’ve been making for 30+ years, given to me by my lifelong friend, Beth.  Typically I make zucchini bread in the early fall when zucchini is abundant, but there’s no reason not to make it all year round. I’m posting this now since my daughter requested it this past week.

As usual, I change many recipes to suit my tastes, so you’ll see the changes noted.

Zucchini Bread

3 eggs
3/4 c. oil (recipe calls for 1 c)
1 1/2 c sugar  (recipe calls for 2 c)
2 tsp vanilla
2 c. coarsely grated zucchini (note – –  2 c = 1 extra-large zucchini)

3 c flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c chopped nuts
(1/2 c raisins or cranberries if desired)

Beat eggs, add sugar, oil, zucchini and vanilla.
Mix well, but lightly.
Add flour sifted with dry ingredients.  Mix to blend, add nuts and raisins.

Bake in either 4 small loaf pans, or 2 long bread pans, or 1 large bundt pan.
You can also make them as cupcakes.
Bake for 45 – 60 minutes at 325 degrees.  The smaller the baking pan, the sooner they are usually done.
With cupcakes and small pans, begin checking at 25 minutes.

*** NOTE: As with most baked goods, you can try using whole wheat flour, part whole wheat and white, adding ground flax meal or almond meal (and similar) in lieu of some flour, etc. This bread freezes well.

Happy nibbling!

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..


Leave a comment

Categories