Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | July 16, 2012

What to do with all that corn


 

While running my errands the other day, I noticed an abundance of fruits and veggies on the “reduced” shelf in the corner of the produce section.  I couldn’t resist the bag of 8 corn for $1, and 2 containers of brussel sprouts for $1. Both were a steal.

My initial thought was that I’d roast the corn, and share some with a friend.  Instead I decided to use it all at once and make a corn salad.

It’s very easy to cut the corn off the cobs. You can roast or boil them first. If you’re roasting the corn, you’ll need to let them rest until they are cool enough to handle. If you boil the corn until fork tender, then you can easily plunge the ears in an ice bath to stop the cooking.  They should be cool to the touch fairly quickly.  Once cooled, hold the cob vertically, and using a large knife, shave the corn off the cob. I watched a video the other day which suggested balancing the cob in the hole of a bundt pan.   As you shave off the corn kernels, they fall directly into the bundt pan below. Clever.

The 8 corn cobs were of average size.

Now, what to do with all that corn…..

I decided to go with a simple dressing.

After I shaved it from the cob into a bowl, I tossed it with the following: approximately 6 tablespoons of cider vinegar, 2 to 3  tablespoons of olive oil, 1 chopped red onion, a generous amount of freshly ground pepper, and approximately 1/2 cup of freshly chopped basil.   If you prefer, you can substitute cilantro for the basil.  Mix well. Place in the fridge and stir periodically.

This recipe can easily be adjusted depending on the number of ears of corn you choose to use.  You can also consider adding other veggies, like chopped red pepper. I might even add a can of black beans next time, turning it from a side dish into a main dish.

Needless to say, this made a huge quantity. I shared some with my parents, and, a few days later, we still have more to enjoy  in the fridge. It also tastes more flavorful with each passing day, therefore making it an ideal recipe to bring along to a picnic. I especially like the idea that it can be made a day or 2 in advance.

Since I used 8 ears of corn, I’d guesstimate that this recipe would easily serve 8 to 10 people, assuming one average ear per person.

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

