Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | August 24, 2012

Quinoa and Cocoa: The Perfect Pairing


Almost a year ago, I wrote a post called “Quinoa for Breakfast: It makes the perfect hot cereal.  It continues to be a personal favorite, and is also enjoyed by my husband and plenty of house guests.

I am constantly changing the fruits, nuts, and other additions, but the basic recipe remains the same.   Nowadays, I always add chia seeds, the “new” go-to food for omegas.

Hardly a week goes by without yet another article touting the benefits of dark chocolate and cocoa.  It doesn’t take much convincing for me to enjoy a daily piece of dark chocolate.  Last week, I read an article suggesting the addition of unsweetened cocoa to your cup of Joe.  Unsweetened cocoa is packed with flavanols, beneficial to heart health.  So now we’ve been adding a rounded teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa to our morning coffee. The unsweetened cocoa has approximately 15 to 20 calories, so it’s virtually guilt free.

While making a new batch of quinoa for breakfast this week, I decided to add unsweetened cocoa to the recipe.   I doubled my recipe, adding one rounded teaspoon for each serving – – in this case, 4 teaspoons.  This is clearly my favorite addition so far, and was a huge hit with my husband, too.  In addition to the cocoa, I added a small amount of dried cranberries, chia seeds, walnuts and lots of cinnamon.

In the morning, I portion out a serving, cover it with a small amount of milk, and probably less than a 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar, and heat it in the microwave.  A healthy indulgence and so satisfying.  I think I’m on to something here. I have a feeling this will become a regular addition to my morning quinoa.

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Responses

  1. sounds delicious! i want to see a photo on this blog 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

