Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | November 4, 2011

Apricot Cranberry Relish


The holidays are creeping up on us.  Whenever possible, I prefer to start my cooking early and stock my freezer with some of my favorites.

This recipe couldn’t be easier to make, whether you make it and freeze it ahead of time, or even at the last-minute.  So quick and easy, and always a hit!

Apricot Cranberry Relish

1 lb bag of cranberries (I’ve noticed that many brands now sell them in 12 ounce bags.  This recipe is very forgiving, so 12 ounces will work fine.)

1  1/2 cups of dried apricots, cut in small pieces

1 c. seedless golden raisins

1 Tablespoon grated orange rind

1/4 tsp of ginger

2  1/2 cups of water

Combine all ingredients and boil on low heat. As soon as it boils, reduce the heat and simmer until cranberries pop and the water is absorbed.  Add 1/4 cup of sugar and mix well. Note regarding sugar: I add the sugar slowly.  We prefer it slightly tart.

I also make this recipe in half batches, if I’m making it for a smaller crowd. It freezes beautifully. Often if I make a full batch, I will freeze it in many smaller containers. If I have a larger group I can always thaw more containers.

Serve cold.  It is a delicious accompaniment to turkey or meat.  Add it to a leftover turkey sandwich. Delish!

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

