Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | October 10, 2011

Quinoa for Breakfast: It makes the perfect hot cereal


 

I’m hooked on quinoa. Until now, we’ve been eating it mostly for lunch and dinner, in soups, salads and casseroles.

I’ve read a lot about eating it as a breakfast cereal, so I finally gave it a try.  This recipe can easily be adjusted to your personal taste.

Hot Quinoa Cereal With Fruits and Nuts

1/2 cup of quinoa, rinsed well

1  1/2 cups of milk (I used skim)

fruit(s) of your choice (banana, berries, apples…)

nuts (walnuts, almonds…..)

brown sugar

cinnamon

After rinsing quinoa with water, place quinoa and milk in a pot.  If you’ve ever heated milk before, you’re probably aware that it has a tendency to boil over rather easily.  Using a larger pot may help reduce the chance of it boiling over. However, since heating milk can be fussy, it’s best to stay nearby, stirring it frequently and keeping a watchful eye on the pot.

I started out on a medium high heat, and just before it began to boil, I lowered it to a simmer, and covered it with a top.   Leave the lid slightly ajar, so the steam has the opportunity to escape, decreasing the chance of the milk boiling over.

It took nearly 25 minutes until the quinoa was totally soft.

This recipes serves 2.

Once the quinoa was soft, I split it in two portions and placed one in the fridge for the following day.  To the portion I was eating that day,  I added a sprinkling of chopped walnuts, a sliced banana, a dash of brown sugar, and a generous sprinkling of cinnamon.

This was a very satisfying breakfast, keeping me satisfied throughout the morning.

NOTES: This is not a quick breakfast meal to prepare. I plan to make one extra-large batch on the weekends and reheat throughout the week.  Any type of milk, fruits, nuts or sweeteners can be used. It might even be a good recipe to make in a crock pot.

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Responses

  1. I agree with your Quinoa for Breakfast: It makes the perfect hot cereal 4 Whatever It's Worth, excellent post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

