Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | October 5, 2011

Who Doesn’t Love This Fall Favorite: Pumpkin Bread


It’s officially fall.

Well, actually it was officially fall when I purchased my pumpkin a few weeks ago.

I always purchase a pumpkin as soon as they become available. The news this fall had me concerned; the  pumpkin crop would supposedly be scarce, severely damaged by Hurricane Irene and other recent rainstorms. It wasn’t sounding very promising, and yet I snagged an absolutely gorgeous pumpkin.

There are so many wonderful recipes that I associate with fall. One of my longtime favorites is pumpkin bread.

Let’s get baking!

Pumpkin Bread

2/3 cup oil (canola)

2 cups sugar

4 eggs

1 lb can of pumpkin (plain pumpkin, not pumpkin pie mix)

2/3 cup water

3 1/3 cups of flour

2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cloves

2/3 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans) – optional

2/3 cup raisins (or dried cranberries) – optional

Beat together oil, sugar, eggs, pumpkin, and water. Sift dry ingredients together and blend into the pumpkin mixture. Stir in nuts and raisins. Pour into greased loaf pans and bake at 350 degrees for 55 to 60 minutes, until a cake tester or toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Notes: Use two 9 x 5 loaf pans or three 8 x 4 loaf pans.

You can also bake this recipe in mini loaf pans, cupcake tins, or mini cupcakes (which I often make as a side dish with our Thanksgiving meal). If you use smaller tins, keep a watchful eye on your oven since you will need to reduce the overall cooking time.

Did you know that you can save energy by not warming your oven to temperature prior to baking? Let’s face it, sometimes a recipe takes much longer to prepare than we anticipated, and our oven has been unnecessarily left on coming to temperature. Consider turning it on as you load your oven with the loaf pans. You will need to increase the baking time by 5 or so minutes.

Allow the breads to cool COMPLETELY prior to wrapping them up for storage.

Now, call a few friends, put on a pot of tea or coffee, and enjoy a slice of freshly baked pumpkin bread!

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Responses

  1. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog. It’s nice to get your feedback. I often write something and wonder if anyone out there is “listening”.
      When it comes to my recipes, I put them out there for friends and family, for easy access.


Leave a Reply

Categories

