Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | September 21, 2011

Italian Food On My Mind


For whatever reason, today is all about Italian food.

My daughter called this afternoon and mentioned she was planning to make homemade ravioli for dinner tonight. Years ago, my husband and I went through a phase where we made all our own pastas and ravioli.  We really need to get back in the habit. There’s no comparison between homemade and store-bought! Homemade pasta –  so so good! Now I’m getting hungry!!

I was reading an article earlier about Arthur Avenue – – the Little Italy of the Bronx. If you’ve never been, it’s definitely worth a trip.  I posted the article on my Facebook page and diehard fans have been commenting. It’s created a conversation about Arthur Ave vs Little Italy in lower Manhattan. The article is one of the more comprehensive articles about Arthur Avenue than I’ve read in a while.  That’s making me hungriER!!! All those great pasta stores, delis, breads….

Coincidentally, tonight we are having pasta for dinner.  I have an overabundance of broccoli and needed to find a recipe for dinner, and I found one for pasta with broccoli that works perfectly.  Did I mention I was hungry?!

I’ve been meaning to post this recipe for Stuffed Shells for my son, since I sent him back to school with some jumbo shells.  So, in keeping with today’s focus on pasta, here’s the recipe.  Another easy and delicious recipe. You may have realized by now that “easy” and “delicious” are my mantra. Great to pair this recipe with a salad and garlic bread, if you’re having company.

Stuffed Shells

1/2 box jumbo shells (15 to 18) – – follow directions on box to par boil and drain

1 1/2 c. ricotta or well-drained cottage cheese (can also do a mix; low-fat works well, or half low-fat and half nonfat)

6 oz. part skim mozzarella, shredded

1/3 c. parmesan cheese, grated

1 to 2 eggs, slightly beaten

1/2 t. salt (I omit this – – the sauce has plenty of salt)

1 t. chopped parsley (dried is fine)

1/2 t. oregano

1/8 t. pepper

2 c. spaghetti sauce (or more)

I also like to add 1 package of frozen chopped spinach – – thaw and squeeze out the water.

Note: The above recipe feeds 5 people. Sometimes I use the entire box of shells, so I adjust (double) the recipe accordingly. and usually double the filling. It makes great leftovers, and freezes well, too.

After the shells are cooked and drained, combine the cheeses, eggs, and seasonings – – and optional spinach.

Spray a 9 x 9 baking dish with Pam or similar spray.  Spread a thin layer of sauce on the bottom of the baking dish.

Fill shells with approximately 2 tablespoons of the cheese mixture.  Place stuffed shells, one deep, in the dish and cover with part of the sauce. Sprinkle with additional parmesan cheese.

Bake at 350 degrees in a preheated oven for 35 minutes or until hot. Heat remaining sauce and serve with shells.

Mangia! and enjoy!

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Responses

  1. You’re blogging has really come on when I look back over previous posts. Actually I arrived here from a forum on an unrelated topic. Worth surfing sometimes. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

