Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | July 26, 2011

Are the Mosquitoes Winning This Year?


It was an unusually snowy winter, followed by a fairly wet spring – – perfect combination for the mosquitoes.  As to be expected, this summer has been extremely buggy! Usually I think of the evenings as prime time for bug bites, but this year I manage to feel the bugs biting during the day, and even in the house.  There’s no escaping them!

It’s true what they say, some of us are bitten more than others.  My daughter and I always manage to attract the mosquitoes, even if no one else is feeling the sting!

I’ve attempted many different solutions over the years, but nothing seems to fully protect me. I asked my friends on Facebook for some suggestions.  Some like Avon’s Skin So Soft, others like the bug bracelets, but most people just agreed that they are being bitten alive.

I read a few articles suggesting that we place dryer sheets in our pocket to keep the bugs away.  This seemed like a fairly easy option to consider.  I stuffed one in my pocket and one in my husband’s.  But, then I figured, hey, why stop there? I tied them all over our folding chairs that we use for outdoor evening events.  Remarkably I’ve been feeling fewer bites.  So, the other night I threw in the whole darn box.  What do I have to lose?  And, when I started sensing the mosquitoes, I pulled the box out of my bag, opened the top widely, and left it nearby. Maybe it’s a placebo, but so far it seems to be helping.  I’m becoming a huge fan of dryer sheets.

Do you have any suggestions to share? Have you ever tried dryer sheets?

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

