Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | July 22, 2011

Counter the Heat Wave with a Smoothie


We’re having a heat wave ! Us, and most of  the country.

Can’t you just hear Martha and the Vandellas singing Heatwave?  OK, so maybe I’m dating myself a bit. That’s all I ever think of when someone mentions a heat wave.

So, what are you doing to keep cool?  The car thermometer read 105 degrees! The house thermometer is a mere 95 degrees. Heat indexes are close to 113. I’ve never seen such high numbers.

For lunch today I made one of my favorite hot weather lunches – -a fruit smoothie. It was perfectly refreshing and satisfying. I don’t follow a recipe, but I can approximate it for you to enjoy, also.

Fill your blender with the following:

– a splash (probably about an ounce) of skim milk

– 3/4 to 1 cup of non fat plain yogurt (I use regular plain yogurt, or better yet, Greek yogurt, which doubles the protein and adds a richer body to the shake)

– any mix of frozen fruits (I used to buy a large bag of mixed frozen fruit at Costco, but it contained too much melon. I switched to purchasing smaller bags at Trader Joe’s, so I can pick and choose the fruits I like.  Typically I buy blueberries, strawberries, mango and pineapple.  When my fresh bananas start to get overly ripe, I throw the remainder in the freezer. I’ll often add half a banana to the mix of frozen fruit.)  I don’t measure the amount of fruit that I use, but it equates with approximately the equivalent of a serving of fruit.

If the fruits you’ve chosen aren’t especially sweet, you can add an ounce of real fruit juice.

And, if you haven’t yet tried Greek yogurt, it’s worth trying! It’s much richer than regular yogurt.  The extra protein is a real plus. I buy the non fat Greek yogurt. Fage (a brand of Greek yogurt)  is wonderful and Costco sells the mega size for a great price. Recently Costco started selling their own brand (Kirkland) of Greek yogurt, which is an even better value and quite comparable to Fage.  I have 2 containers of plain yogurt in my fridge on any given day.

Blend away! Serves one. With a straw and a spoon, it’s a meal for me!

Keep cool.

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

