Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | July 18, 2011

Flippin’ the Bird? Really?


I was waiting at a long light in front of an exit from a busy gas station. It’s especially difficult to exit the driveway at this unusually congested intersection.

I stopped my car to allow the back-up of cars easier access to the road.  One car… two cars… three cars… and the light finally changed, so I began to continue driving, before I’d be stuck sitting through yet another cycle of the light. Much to my surprise the fourth car, a nice car with a respectable looking man in his 30’s or 40’s, quickly gave me the finger, apparently for not continuing to wait and allow him to leave the lot. Really? Was I seeing this correctly? The finger? It’s come to that? Isn’t that a bit of an overreaction? Geez, how does he react when it’s really a tough situation?

Truth be told, I started to laugh. I couldn’t believe such a ridiculous response. And, actually, I have to admit it, I thought it was such an extreme response that, after a brief moment of hesitation, and rather uncharacteristic of my own behavior, I flipped him the bird right back.  And then I burst out laughing, as I continued to drive away.

My son thought my response was utterly hilarious, so much so, that he shared the story with his friends.  They all had a good laugh.

Thinking back at the moment, I still  find myself laughing.

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

