Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | June 22, 2011

Brewing Iced Tea With A Twist


I’ll admit it. I’m a coffee lover through and through.  I can’t start my day without it. In the winter, that first sip of hot coffee soothes my soul and gets me moving! And, in the summer, I keep a pitcher of iced coffee in the fridge, ready to greet me each morning.

The benefits of tea are well publicized, and I can’t dismiss them.  As soon as the weather begins to warm up a bit in the spring, I begin brewing batches of decaf iced tea, and storing them in the fridge.

I fill a 4 quart pot nearly to the top , based on the size pitcher I ultimately use to store the iced tea.   While it begins to heat up, I choose a variety of tea bags from my collection of teas.  No combination is the same, hence each batch has a distinctively different flavor.  Typically I might pick 2 green (or black) tea bags, 2 fruity teas (orange, raspberry…), etc, until I’ve chosen between 7 and 8 tea bags.  Just choose any variety. They all work together. I’ve even been known to throw cocoa tea into the mix. There’s no “right way” to make this recipe.  If I have tea bags I want to use up, they get added to the mix.  Some teas certainly create a heartier flavor.

I tie the tea bags together, and dangle them over the edge, snagging them with the top to the pot, so the papers are just beneath the top edge of the pot, avoiding any risk of them hitting the burner and catching fire.

In addition, I add 2 or 3 cinnamon sticks to the pot, while brewing.  Similarly you can add other natural flavorings, like mint leaves or the juice of a lemon, whatever strikes your taste buds! Sugar can also be added to the batch, or added to individual glasses later.

As soon as the pot of water comes to a boil, I turn it off,  remove it from the burner, taste the tea, and remove the tea bags once the tea is hearty enough for my liking.  I leave the cinnamon sticks and other spices in the brew until it has fully cooled, removing them just before I transfer the tea to my pitcher to store it in the fridge.

Let me know what you think.

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

