Posted by: 4whateveritsworth | May 19, 2011

Do I Really Have to Clean the Fridge?


We all have them, those tasks we hate to do.  Those tasks we procrastinate doing.  If you’re at all like me, cleaning the fridge is hardly a way I like to spend my time.

Years ago, cleaning the fridge could be a half or full day job.  The longer I waited to clean it was directly related to how long it took to clean it.  And, if you remember back before frost-free freezers, that job took forever!

Nowadays, I’ve made the task so much more tolerable, and a lot less time-consuming, though somehow I still manage to procrastinate getting started.  Here’s my tip.  I compartmentalize the task.  I try to find a time when the fridge isn’t quite so full – – right before I need to stock up on groceries.  One day I  might grab all the shelves off the door and wash, dry, and re-load them.  If  I only have 20 or 30 minutes to spare, then I just grab a few shelves to clean.  The following week, or some time in the future, I’ll pull out the drawers to be cleaned.  And, so it goes, until the entire fridge has been cleaned.  This can happen gradually over a couple of weeks, or throughout the month.

And, by the way, save yourself some cleaning time by lining your veggie and fruit drawers with a double thickness of paper towel.  Periodically, when they start to look shabby, replace the paper towel and re-line the drawers.

I started cleaning the fridge a couple of weeks ago.  Today I managed to clean a few more shelves.  Hopefully, in a couple of weeks, it’ll all be done.  In the meantime, the fridge is looking a lot cleaner, and the task is a lot less intimidating.  Before I know it, I’ll be checking it off my “to-do” list.

Until my next post, 4 whatever it’s worth…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

